When it comes to security, WhatsApp has always tried to provide its users the best possible service, despite several criticisms. And the latest feature just rolled out to all users of the app confirms this orientation. So, what changes?
Finally, the two-step verification security feature is available. The option has been under testing for several months and now all users using Android, iPhone and Windows devices will be able to verify in a more secure way their number when they install WhatsApp on their device. How can you use this important new feature? Don’t worry, it is not difficult at all.
The first thing you need to do is to provide a six-digit passcode (created by you) when you register your own phone number with WhatsApp again. The two-step verification security feature is optional, for this reason if you decide that you want to enable it you have to open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Two-step verification > Enable. Once you have enabled the feature, you will have to enter the WhatsApp passcode that you have previously created, and provide an email address so that you will be able to recover your account if you forget the passcode.
The Facebook-owned company in its FAQ page explains that “This email address will allow WhatsApp to send you a link via email to disable two-step verification in case you ever forget your six-digit passcode, and also to help safeguard your account” .
If it’s true that this new option is very important for the safety of your device, you really have to pay attention when you enable it. Why? First of all because WhatsApp informs that they don’t verify the email address that you provide, so it is essential that you provide a correct email address to avoid being locked out of your own account in case you forget your passcode.
Furthermore, if you forget your passcode and you have not provided an email to disable the two-step verification feature, you will not be allowed to reverify on the app within seven days of last using the app. That’s what the company says: “After these 7 days, your number will be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp without your passcode, but you will lose all pending messages upon reverifying – they will be deleted. If your number is reverified on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, and without your passcode, your account will be deleted and a new one will be created upon successfully reverifying,“.
The two-step verification security feature was introduced a few months ago in beta versions of the app for Android and Windows devices.